Kristin Malosh

Current Position: EHS Manager at Vallourec Star
October 11, 2007Her job: Senior Project Manager, Novel Geo-Environmental, LLC
Describe what you do in your current work situation? I am currently working for an environmental engineering and geotechnical consulting firm in the Pittsburgh, PA area.
Why did you choose engineering? I originally went into engineering "no-preference" during my freshman year at Michigan State University because I loved Math and Science. During my freshmen year, I learned just how difficult Math and Science can be in college! Even though my classes were tough, I stayed in Engineering because of the variety of career paths. I learned that engineers can work as lawyers, managers, consultants, or whatever they choose!
Where did you go to school and what degree(s) do you have? I attended Michigan State University and earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Biosystems Engineering with a cognate in Environmental Engineering. I earned my Professional Engineer (PE) license in 2004.
What do you like best about being an engineer? I like to solve problems- that's what engineers do everyday. My job as an environmental engineer requires me to solve all kinds of problems like- what kind of pollution control equipment should we use? can we discharge this wastewater? what permits are needed for this company?
Which of your career accomplishments are you proudest of? I am most proud of my current involvement with the Pittsburgh Section of the Society of Women Engineers (SWE). I am the Vice President of Programming and the Newsletter Editor. I enjoy being a part of SWE because of the outreach programs we provide for young girls and the professional networking with other women engineers.
Please tell us a little about your family. My husband and I were married in 2001 on Michigan State's Campus. Geoff works in Information Technology and is an amateur photographer. We love to travel together and spend time outside with our dog, Sibley
What advice would you give to a young woman considering a career in engineering? Find a mentor- someone who is a female engineer- they have gone through similar challenges and can offer a lot of great advice. I have a mentor now, even though I have been an engineer for eight years. A mentor can offer advice to help you make smart decisions about your engineering education or career.
Describe something about your life outside of work: your hobbies, or perhaps a favorite book. Outside of work, I am a volleyball player. I play in several adult leagues in the Pittsburgh area. I enjoy playing (and winning) as part of a team.